A groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. Search essential historical records, including Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation Records, Military Draft and Service Records, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Persons of Color, Freedman's Bank, & more.
Database provided by the largest non-profit Genealogy organization in the world. As an Affiliate Library the Central Library allows access to roughly a quarter of the 1.5 billion+ images that have been digitized by FamilySearch, with hundreds of thousands or records available for free outside of the library. Record access is available for both United States and International records.
From the New-York Historical Society, this database features over 1500 residential and business directories, organization records, urban guidebooks, and other sources rich in names and places that present a history of the people of New York City from the late eighteenth through the early twentieth century. New York was long the country’s focal point of industry, trade, commerce and immigration, and this collection features materials that track the city's inhabitants over time and place, where they lived, where they worked, and what they did. It also includes residential, trade, and occupational directories, membership lists for churches, professional groups, philanthropic and governmental institutions, ethnic organizations, and leisure clubs.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1871 - 1980
Library created searchable database offering an obituary index from two local newspapers: The Courier and The Montgomery County News. Currently the database covers 1911-1912 & 1975-2017 of the Courier and 1922 of the Montgomery County News. To request a full obituary, complete our online Obituary Request Form.